We will be working throughout 2020 to renew and repair the railway tracks across the Western route.

We are going to replace the old, worn railway track by lifting it up, removing it, laying a new stone base and relaying new track. We are aware that we are working close to your home and we work hard to minimise the disruption. The work will involve heavy track machinery, so we apologise in advance for any disturbance we create.

Our working trains near your home FAQs

We are completing this work to bring passengers more reliable, faster better rail services.

Safety is our number one priority, so we need to carry out a lot of our work during the night when the railway is closed to trains.

Please be aware the below times may change.

Dates and locations of work

Work is taking place at Tackley between May and August 2020

We will be working between 09:00 and 21:00 during the following months for weekend and midweek activity, on the following dates.

May

  • Saturday 23 May – Sunday 24 May
  • Saturday 30 May – Sunday 31 May

June

  • Saturday 6 June – Sunday 7 June
  • Saturday 20 June – Sunday 21 June
  • Saturday 27 June – Sunday 28 June

July

  • Sunday 5 July – Monday 6 July
  • Saturday 11 July – Monday 13 July
  • Saturday 18 July – Sunday 19 July
  • Saturday 25 July – Monday 27 July

August

  • Saturday 1 August – Sunday 2 August
  • Saturday 8 August – Sunday 9 August

Work is taking place at Coalpit Heath between May and August 2020

We will be working between the hours of 22:00 and 10:00 during the below months, this will include weekend and mid-week work.

May

  • Saturday 30 May – Sunday 31 May

June

  • Saturday 6 June – Monday 8 June
  • Saturday 13 June – Monday 15 June
  • Saturday 20 June – Monday 22 June
  • Saturday 27 June – Sunday 28 June

July

  • Saturday 4 July – Sunday 5 July
  • Saturday 11 July – Sunday 12 July
  • Saturday 25 July – Sunday 26 July

August

  • Saturday 1 August – Sunday 2 August
  • Saturday 8 August – Sunday 9 August

Work is taking place at Foxhall Junction to Milton between August and October 2020

We will be working between 09:00 and 21:00 during the following months for weekend and midweek activity, on the following dates.

August

  • Saturday 1 August – Sunday 2 August
  • Saturday 8 August – Sunday 9 August
  • Saturday 15 August – Sunday 16 August
  • Saturday 22 August – Sunday 23 August
  • Saturday 29 August – Sunday 30 August

September

  • Saturday 5 September – Sunday 6 September
  • Saturday 12 September – Sunday 13 September
  • Saturday 19 September – Sunday 20 September
  • Saturday 26 September – Sunday 27 September

October

  • Saturday 3 October – Sunday 4 October
  • Monday 5 October – Friday 9 October

Work is taking place at Didcot between August 2020 and October 2020.

We will be working at weekends between the hours of 21:00 and 09:00 during the below months. Please be aware these dates may change.

August

  • Saturday 1 August – Monday 3 August
  • Saturday 15 August – Monday 17 August

September

  • Saturday 5 September – Tuesday 8 September
  • Saturday 12 September – Monday 14 September
  • Saturday 19 September – Monday 21 September
  • Saturday 26 September – Tuesday 29 September

October

  • Saturday 3 October – Tuesday 6 October
  • Saturday 10 October – Tuesday 13 October
  • Saturday 17 October – Tuesday 20 October

Work is taking place at Oxford North between August 2020 and November 2020

We will be working between the hours of 21:00 and 09:00 during the below months. Please be aware these dates may change.

August

  • Saturday 1 August – Monday 3 August
  • Saturday 15 August – Tuesday 18 August

September

  • Saturday 12 September – Monday 14 September
  • Saturday 19 September – Monday 21 September
  • Saturday 26 September – Monday 28 September

October

  • Sunday 4 October – Tuesday 6 October
  • Saturday 10 October – Tuesday 13 October
  • Saturday 17 October – Monday 19 October
  • Sunday 25 October – Tuesday 27 October
  • Saturday 31 October – Monday 2 November

November

  • Saturday 7 November – Monday 9 November

Work is taking place at Appleford between August 2020 and February 2021

We will be working between the hours of 21:00 and 09:00 during the below months. Please be aware these dates may change.

August

    • Saturday 15 August – Monday 17 August
    • Saturday 22 August – Monday 24 August
    • Saturday 29 August – Monday 31 August

September

  • Saturday 5 September – Monday 7 September
  • Saturday 12 September – Monday 14 September
  • Saturday 19 September – Monday 21 September
  • Saturday 26 September – Monday 28 September

October

  • Saturday 3 October – Monday 5 October
  • Saturday 17 October – Tuesday 20 October
  • Saturday 31 October – Tuesday 3 November

November

  • Saturday 7 November – Monday 9 November
  • Saturday 14 November – Monday 16 November
  • Saturday 21 November – Monday 23 November
  • Saturday 28 November – Monday 30 November

December

  • Saturday 5 December – Monday 7 December
  • Saturday 19 December – Tuesday 22 December

January 2021

  • Saturday 23 January – Tuesday 26 January
  • Saturday 30 January – Monday 1 February

February

  • Saturday 6 February – Tuesday 9 February
  • Saturday 13 February – Tuesday 16 February

Work is taking place between Wolvercote and Kidlington during August 2020 to February 2021

We will be working between the hours of 21:00 and 10:00 during the below months. Please be aware these dates may change.

September 2020

  • Saturday 12 September – Monday 14 September
  • Saturday 19 September – Monday 21 September
  • Saturday 26 September – Monday 28 September

October 2020

  • Saturday 3 October – Monday 5 October
  • Saturday 10 October – Monday 12 October
  • Saturday 24 October – Monday 26 October
  • Saturday 31 October – Monday 2 November

November 2020

  • Saturday 7 November – Monday 9 November
  • Saturday 14 November – Monday 16 November
  • Saturday 21 November – Monday 23 November
  • Saturday 28 November – Monday 30 November

December 2020

  • Saturday 5 December – Monday 7 December
  • Saturday 12 December – Monday 14 December
  • Saturday 19 December – Monday 21 December

January 2021

  • Saturday 9 January – Monday 11 January
  • Saturday 16 January – Monday 18 January
  • Saturday 23 January – Monday 25 January
  • Saturday 30 January – Monday 1 February

February 2021

  • Saturday 6 February – Monday 8 February
  • Saturday 13 February – Monday 15 February
  • Sunday 21 February – Tuesday 23 February
  • Sunday 28 February – Tuesday 2 March

March 2021

  • Sunday 14 March – Tuesday 16 March
  • Saturday 20 March – Tuesday 23 March
  • Saturday 27 March – Tuesday 30 March

Our Track Renewals team at work

Watch the video below that shows our factory on wheels, called the Track Renewal System (TRS).

Our working trains near your home

Throughout our track work, we have several trains that carry out different maintenance tasks to maintain the safe running of the railway. These trains are crucial to ensure the safety of passengers and train services along the route. The information below has been designed to help residents know more about the trains operating in their area and provide information on when they will be there.

Frequently asked questions

A grinding train maintains the track and helps to increase the lifespan of the rail. These trains remove small layers of metal from the railhead, helping us to keep the track in good condition.

Stoneblowers restore the line and level of the track. To do this, first we measure the track to work out where we need to lift it and make sure it’s level, and how much it needs to be moved side to side to ensure correct alignment.

Tampers and stoneblowers are track maintenance machines that make sure the track is correctly aligned and has a smooth level along the rail. They help to prevent the risk of trains derailing, and ensure smooth, comfortable journeys for passengers and freight trains.

These machines generally work at night when no passenger trains are running.

These sidings are a designated stabling point for this type of train. We have very few of these around our route, so we move them around the country regularly to both carry out work we need to do whilst minimising the impact on people who live nearby.

The engineering train is prepared with essential safety checks during the daytime to make sure it is safe to operate on the railway tracks at night. This is so we can continue to keep essential freight carrying food, fuel and medicines and of course passengers moving to reach their destinations.

 

Related links

When we’re working in your area

Please click on your location to find a timetable of dates of when these trains are working near your home.

Newbury Timetables
116 KB
Swindon Timetables
119 KB

Contact us

For more information or to get in touch with us, please call our 24 hour helpline on 03457 11 41 41 or email CRwest@networkrail.co.uk