East Midlands route

The route takes in the whole of the East Midlands including Derby, Nottingham and Leicester.

The East Midlands route includes the Midland Main Line (MML), which runs from London St Pancras, and reaches Sheffield at its most northerly point. It is currently undergoing the largest upgrade since it was completed in 1870.

The route serves suburban commuter links outside London and longer distance services to the three biggest cities of the East Midlands and including East Midlands Parkway for connections to the region’s airport.

Work is ongoing on the route to enable better, more comfortable and efficient journeys, with more seats and less crowding. The upgrade will support the growth of the regional economies, connecting people to more jobs, education and leisure opportunities. It is being completed as part of the national Railway Upgrade Plan.

The East Midlands route is supported by the Eastern region bringing us closer to our passengers and the communities we serve, with a focus on operations to help us improve train performance.

Map showing East Midlands route

Main railway lines:

  • The Midland Main Line (MML) from London St Pancras to Nottingham or Sheffield.


We work closely with local communities to promote safety by the railway. Find out more on our community safety page.

Projects in East Midlands

Get in touch

Latest news