The rail network is divided into nine areas, or routes, across the country.

In 2014 we devolved day-to-day responsibility for railway businesses to 10 strategic geographical routes – this has since been reduced to nine, including Freight and National Passenger Operations (FNPO). Each of these routes is run locally so that we can work more closely with the relevant train and freight operating companies to better meet the needs of passengers and businesses.

Putting passengers first

Following an extensive review, Network Rail is making changes in how it operates. We will push devolution further than ever before, making routes more responsive to local needs and cutting through red tape and bureaucracy.

14 routes will be supported by five Network Rail regions, each led by a managing director. These will be Eastern, North West & Central, Scotland' Railway, Southern and Wales & Western.

The formation of the new regions took place in June 2019 following a period of consultation.

Read more about our new regions and find out about how we're putting passengers first.

Our targets and priorities are now agreed jointly with train operators, meaning performance incentives for all of Network Rail’s staff are aligned to the needs of customers.

We also support the routes with national services and functions that help to keep our railway running safely and efficiently.

You can click or tap on the map for up-to-date information about your route to help you plan your journey, including details of train operators (TOCs) and stations, information on projects and planned works, and local contacts.