Periodic Review 2018 (PR18)

PR18 will establish our outputs and funding for Control Period 6 (CP6) – from 1 April 2019 to 31 March 2024

This page contains our publications related to access charges, including responses and conclusions for relevant consultations. It also includes our responses to Office of Rail and Road's (ORR) PR18 publications.

CP5 access charges

Indicative PR18 timeline

  • Autumn 2016 – rail industry publishes its initial industry plans.
  • Spring 2017 – ORR publishes advice to ministers and sets out requirements for Network Rail’s Strategic Business Plan.
  • Summer 2017 – Department for Transport (DfT) and Transport Scotland publish their high level output specifications (HLOS) and statements of funds available (SOFA).
  • Winter 2018 – Network Rail publishes its strategic business plan.
  • Summer 2018 – ORR publishes its draft determination.
  • Autumn 2018 – ORR publishes its final determination.
  • April 2019 – CP6 begins.

Network Rail publications on PR18

This area sets out our publications as part of PR18. This includes Network Rail consultations and stakeholder responses to these consultations.

Network Rail’s consultation on proposed changes to the wording of track access contracts in Control Period 6

The purpose of this consultation is to set out some proposed changes on, and seek stakeholders’ views on, the wording of ORR model contracts in relation to freight and passenger track access contracts in relation to:

  • Proposed rounding of values in Track Access Contracts (TACs)
  • Proposed replacement of references to Train Service Database (TSDB)
  • Proposed change to the track access invoicing process
  • Opportunities to reduce the use of paper invoices
  • Proposed updating of references to freight performance statements.

View consultation document on the proposed changes.

Responses should be sent to: RegulatoryReform@networkrail.co.uk by the end of 22 January 2018.

Network Rail’s consultation on its methodology for allocating fixed costs to train operators in Control Period 6

This consultation sets out our proposed methodology for allocating our fixed costs to train operators in Control Period 6, and seek stakeholders’ views on this approach. Our proposed methodology reflects the revised cost allocation methodology that we commissioned Brockley Consulting to develop.  Further information in relation to the review carried out by Brockley Consulting is available, below.

Network Rail's consultation on its methodology for allocating fixed costs to train operators in Control Period 6 (September 2017)

Fixed costs - presentation to Rail Delivery Group

Brockley Consulting report - A new method for allocating network fixed costs (September 2017)

Consultation on variable and station charges in CP6

This consultation sets out our proposed approach to recalibrating variable charges and station charges in CP6, and seeks stakeholders’ views on our approach.

We will be consulting separately on our proposed methodology for allocating fixed costs to train operators later this summer.

Cost allocation

To inform our work on cost allocation and attribution, we commissioned Brockley Consulting to advise us on ways to make cost causation more transparent, improving the quality of information available to decision makers.

This report considers approaches to cost allocation for the Great Britain railway network and opportunities to refine these approaches.

ORR publications on PR18

ORR's website contains background information on the periodic review. As PR18 progresses, this page will be updated with more information on objectives, timetables, and stakeholder engagement.

On 14 July 2015, ORR held a workshop to update industry stakeholders on the approach being used to prepare for their consultation on the structure of charges in PR18.

ORR workshop – Structure of Changes workshop slides (July 2015, PDF)

Network Rail responses to ORR consultations

Rail Delivery Group publications

The Rail Delivery Group (RDG) brings together the owners of Britain's passenger train operating companies, freight operators and Network Rail with the aims of:

  • improving services and delivering better value for money
  • providing leadership
  • promoting greater co-operation
  • short and long term improvements.

RDG’s current work programme spans a number of different areas, one of which is contractual and regulatory reform. RDG’s review of charges is one element of RDG’s work in relation to contractual and regulatory reform.

RDG’s review is designed to enable the rail industry to take a fresh look at how train operators are charged to run trains on our infrastructure. It also considers how our incentives can be better aligned with train operators’ to improve industry outcomes. 

We have worked collaboratively with the rest of the industry to support RDG’s work in this area.

The outputs of RDG’s review of charges are set out on this web page. For more information about RDG and its review of charges, please visit the RDG website.