Midland Main Line Upgrade Plan – Bedford to Kettering

We will be carrying out extensive work to the railway between Bedford and Kettering as part of our Midland Main Line Upgrade Plan

Wellingborough North Junction

Between 23 December 2018 and 2 January 2019, we successfully completed the planned works at Wellingborough North Junction.

The work was necessary to facilitate the arrival of the fourth line which is being installed between Sharnbrook, Kettering and Corby in advance of electrification. It will allow the line speed to increase from 25mph to 50mph which in turn will increase capacity and contribute to a reduction of journey times, as part of the Midland Main Line Upgrade.

Track and civils work in your area

As part of the ongoing work to electrify the line by 2020, we need to complete a programme of track renewals and new track installation. We write to our line side neighbours every two months with a programme of work in the local areas. Below is the table of night time working scheduled for your area in March and April. You can read the full letter here.

We will be working overnight in the following locations on the dates/times below. Please note that the locations listed are our rail access points and work will be taking place at any point between the distances given in the table below. Staff and equipment will be accessing via our rail access points.

 

LocationDate
Templars Way (56m 1276yds)Saturday 04 May – Monday 06 May
Friday 10 May – Friday 31 May
Saturday 01 June – Monday 03 June
Saturday 08 June – Sunday 09 June
Souldrop (57m 1716yds)Saturday 04 May – Monday 06 May
Friday 10 May – Monday 13 May
Saturday 18 May – Friday 31 May
Saturday 01 June – Monday 03 June
Saturday 15 June – Monday 17 June
Saturday 22 June – Sunday 30 June
Wymington (60m 1540yds)Monday 22 April – Wednesday 24 April
Monday 29 April – Wednesday 01 May
Saturday 04 May – Monday 06 May
Friday 10 May – Monday 13 May
Saturday 18 May – Friday 31 May
Saturday 01 June – Monday 03 June
Saturday 15 June – Monday 17 June
Saturday 22 June – Sunday 30 June
Irchester (62m 1100yds)Saturday 04 May – Sunday 05 May
Friday 10 May – Monday 13 May
Saturday 18 May – Friday 31 May
Saturday 08 June - Sunday 09 June
Saturday 15 June – Sunday 16 June
Saturday 22 June – Sunday 30 June
Leyland Industrial Estates (64m 1166yds)Wednesday 01 May – Friday 31 May
Saturday 01 June – Friday 14 June
Saturday 15 June – Sunday 30 June
Wellingborough Station South (65m 00yds)Wednesday 01 May – Friday 31 May
Saturday 01 June – Friday 14 June
Saturday 15 June – Sunday 30 June
Finedon Road (65m 61320yds) Saturday 04 May – Sunday 05 May
Saturday 11 May – Monday 20 May
Saturday 25 May – Sunday 02 June
Saturday 08 June - Sunday 09 June
Saturday 15 June – Sunday 16 June
Saturday 22 June – Sunday 23 June
Saturday 29 June – Sunday 30 June
Harrowden Junction (67m 0yds)Saturday 04 May – Sunday 05 May
Saturday 11 May – Monday 20 May
Saturday 25 May – Sunday 02 June
Saturday 08 June - Sunday 09 June
Saturday 15 June – Sunday 16 June
Saturday 22 June – Sunday 23 June
Saturday 29 June – Sunday 30 June
Finedon Station Road (68m 220yds)Saturday 04 May – Sunday 05 May
Saturday 11 May – Monday 20 May
Saturday 25 May – Sunday 02 June
Saturday 08 June - Sunday 09 June
Saturday 15 June – Sunday 16 June
Saturday 22 June – Sunday 23 June
Saturday 29 June – Sunday 30 June
Station Road, Burton Latimer (69m 57yds)Monday 13 May – Friday 17 May
Saturday 01 June – Sunday 02 June
Saturday 29 June – Sunday 30 June
Kettering Station (72m 217yds) Saturday 27 April – Sunday 28 April
Wednesday 01 May – Friday 17 May
Saturday 18 May – Friday 31 May
Saturday 01 June – Sunday 23 June
Monday 24 June – Sunday 30 June
Rothwell Road (72m 1154yds)Saturday 01 June – Monday 03 June
North Kettering (74 m)Saturday 01 June – Monday 03 June

Route clearance work in your area

Work continues throughout the area to prepare for the line’s electrification by the end of 2020. We need to ensure that all structures allow enough height for the new overhead electrification equipment to safely pass under, that bridges we pass over are strengthened where required, that we remove all line side vegetation to meet relevant safety standards and all necessary station modifications and track work is completed.

Bridges

Recent activity includes the successful completion of clearance work Finedon Road bridge, Wellingborough Viaduct, Irchester Viaduct and Cottingham Road bridge.

We have several more structures that require work and will be posting the most up to date information here, as well as notifying local residents in advance of work commencing.

If you have any feedback about our work, please call our 24 hour helpline on 03457 11 41 41 or visit our contact page.