Network Rail is reminding passengers that there will be a reduced service on the East Coast Main Line this weekend as the next stage of a £1.2billion investment into the route takes place.

On Saturday, 4 and Sunday, 5 January, fewer trains will enter and exit London King’s Cross as work continues on the East Coast Upgrade.

There are changes to services on the East Coast Main Line throughout January and February. On seven weekends, there will be a reduced service and on Saturday, 25 and Sunday, 26 January and Saturday, 29 February and Sunday, 1 March no trains will be able to call at the station. This is to allow workers to carry out vital upgrades to the signalling system, power supply and track. There will also be routine maintenance work during this time. 

Passengers are urged to plan their journey ahead of time and to allow additional time to travel. As there are fewer services, those which do run are expected to be busier than normal, so passengers should book a seat if possible.  Passengers can see how they will be impacted by visiting eastcoastupgrade.co.uk or checking with their train operator.

The work this weekend follows on from good progress made over the festive period, which saw work take place to improve the track layout and platforms at the station. Once complete, the East Coast Upgrade will improve journeys for the millions of passengers who use the line each year through more services, faster services, improved reliability and more seats for passengers.

The other dates when there will be a reduced service are:

  • Saturday 11 and Sunday 12 January
  • Saturday 18 and Sunday 19 January
  • Saturday 1 and Sunday 2 February
  • Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 February
  • Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 February
  • Saturday 22 and Sunday 23 February

ENDS