Cookies and networkrail.co.uk. We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive them.
You can read more about how we use cookies, and turn them off, on this page.

 
Rss
 

Gigs, the Mayor of London's busking competition, comes to our London stations

19 July 2013

We're co-hosting Gigs, London's biggest busking competition

 

Gigs is the main public-facing strand of the Mayor's commitment to support musically talented young Londoners. Now in its fifth year it gives performers aged 11 to 25 public performance opportunities, mentoring and support and is all about discovering and nurturing new raw London based talent.

Performances at 8 stations

Performances will take place at eight of our biggest and busiest stations around London. For most performers, the opportunity to hone their performance skills in these unique settings is the biggest draw to entering – nothing beats playing live to London!

Liverpool Street
nr Andaz Hotel

London Bridge

Charing Cross

Waterloo

Sat 20 Jul: 11 am - 3 pm
Sat 27 Jul: 3 - 6 pm
Sat 3 Aug: 3 - 6 pm
Sat 10 Aug: 3 - 6 pm

Sat 20 Jul: 12 am - 4 pm
Fri 26 Jul: 5 - 7 pm
Sat 27 Jul: 12am - 4 pm
Thur 1 Aug: 5 - 7 pm
Fri 2 Aug: 5 - 7 pm
Thur 8 Aug: 5 - 7 pm
Fri 9 Aug: 5 - 7 pm
Sat 10 Aug: 12 am - 4 pm

Sat 20 Jul: 12 am - 3 pm
Tue 23 Jul: 12 am - 3 pm
Tue 30 Jul: 12 am - 3 pm
Sat 3 Aug: 12 am - 3 pm
Tue 6 Aug: 12 am - 3 pm
Sat 10 Aug: 12 am - 3 pm

Sat 20 Jul: 5 - 7 pm
Tue 23 Jul: 5 - 7 pm
Tue 30 Jul: 5 - 7 pm
Sat 3 Aug: 5 - 7 pm
Tue 6 Aug: 5 - 7 pm
Sat 10 Aug: 5 - 7 pm



Euston

Kings Cross
pitch 1 (indoor)

Victoria

Paddington

Tue 23 Jul: 11 am - 2 pm
Wed 24 Jul: 11 am - 2 pm
Tue 30 Jul: 11 am - 2 pm
Wed 31 Jul: 11 am - 2 pm
Thurs 1 Aug: 11 am - 2 pm
Wed 7 Aug: 11 am - 2 pm
Thur 8 Aug: 11 am - 2 pm

Tue 23 Jul: 4 - 7 pm
Wed 24 Jul: 4 - 7 pm
Tue 30 Jul: 4 - 7 pm
Wed 31 Jul: 4 - 7 pm
Thur 1 Aug: 4 - 7 pm
Wed 7 Aug: 4 - 7 pm
Thur 8 Aug: 4 - 7 pm

Wed 24 Jul: 11 am - 2 pm
Tue 30 Jul: 11 am - 2 pm
Fri 2 Aug: 11 am - 2 pm
Tue 6 Aug: 11 am - 2 pm
Thur 8 Aug: 11 am - 2 pm

Tue 23 Jul: 4 - 7 pm
Fri 26 Jul: 4 - 7 pm
Tue 30 Jul: 4 - 7 pm
Fri 2 Aug: 4 - 7 pm
Tue 6 Aug: 4 - 7 pm
Fri 9 Aug: 4 - 7 pm

The Big Busk competition

Competitors entered by sending video audions to the Gigs website; the chosen performers have all been programmed at a variety of iconic London locations between Saturday 20 July and Saturday 10 August.

The performers will not be busking for money - they'll be playing for your vote.

Vote for your winner

To vote for your favourite performer, go to the Gigs Big Busk website and enter their name in the search box.

The public will choose one finalist in each category with another five being chosen by a music industry panel. All 18 finalists will come together for a live "busk-off" grand final on Sunday 8 September at Westfield London W12, which is free and open to everyone.

A coveted licence to busk on London Underground, studio time, equipment, industry mentoring and performance opportunities are just some of the prizes that await the winners of the category finals.

“We’re delighted to be working with our transport partners to co-host this year’s Big Busk. It will not only help find and nurture talented young musicians but it will bring entertainment to users of our stations.”

Dave Ward, London route managing director, Network Rail